Week 4: The Workout Tank

29 Jan

Week 4 features me having a million people ask me the question du jour “What are you doing for the Superbowl!?” For those of you who don’t know, I am really good at being completely oblivious to football… Like REALLY good at it. It’s not a bad thing, just not MY thing. (Unless its commercials, then I am all in for the Superbowl (especially since this year boo-daddy has the commercial he’s been working late nights on premiering)). BUT I hope that the teams do well and its a good game (“Go Sports!”) However, last year I decided to really try and rile a friend up at his Saints watching party by wearing the Niners tee shirt. Have I mentioned what a good friend I am? So I actually have a tee shirt for one of the teams playing! What are the odds?! And one of my besties has been asking me for months to make her one of my signature Work Out Tanks. And as crafty as I am… I wish I could take credit for figuring it out myself, I have to give props to Rabbit Food for My Bunny Teeth . Her DIY T-shirt to tank tutorial is what has helped me to make MANY a tank for football games (not such a pro person but I will always bleed Trojan blood!) and other fun things, and now for the Superbowl!!

FinalMaking this tank is so easy I literally didn’t even bother getting out of bed to do it. You start with any t-shirt you’ve washed before and are okay with cutting up (so your t-shirt that your nana gave you that was signed by MLK and passed down? NOT the shirt to use) I’ve now done this with a V-Neck shirt (see the one above) and a few other times with the regular scoop neck t-shirt.

photo 2 So I recommend doing it on a table first, because I had a few instances where I was wondering if I was cutting t-shirt or quilt (no quilts were harmed in the making of this project), but really its soooo easy. Snip off the bottom, snip off the neck, and the arms… essentially you can cut off any portion that has an actual seam. You’re going for that fun loose tank that looks super cute with jeans or at the gym, you know exactly photo 3what I’m talking about… The kind those girls have and just look sooooo effortlessly cute and chic in. Then I personally save the bottom seam to use on the back end as the ribbon ties. I have to admit I have also been borderline obsessed with the tanks by Person10 because they’re adorable with the little bows on the back. Feminine and functional- nothing wrong with that! So I made a spinoff little bow on this tank, as you can see in the main picture.

This post is unfortunately super short because the tutorial is SO simple that if I messed it up I would be ashamed, and I’ve done it a few times before… Which was also good because it gave me time to try out making a flapper dress for my 20s murder mystery dinner….

Pinned & to Press! Check! Next week I’m thinking food… mmmmmmmmmm

 

 

2 Responses to “Week 4: The Workout Tank”

  1. peihgee January 29, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    Cute tank, and your nails are really cute too!

    • LuckiAllie January 29, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      Thanks so much! Great gel place over in Santa Monica is totally to credit for them! Try the tank! Its so easy it hurts!

Leave a Reply

